Thursday, June 4, 2009

Leviathan-David L. Golemon

David L. Golemon
Dunne, Aug 4 2009, $24.95
ISBN 9780312376635

The navies from around the world are at a loss to prevent the Leviathan from attacking and sinking all types of vessels from the surface or under the sea. None of the countries have found the ability to stop the Leviathan from controlling the sea. However, the unknown Captain of the Leviathan warns the world’s rulers that they will unleash nuclear weapons of mass destruction around the globe if the surface dwellers do not stop their polluting of the oceans.

The American president sends his top team, the Event Group to stop the oceanic terrorists whose actions are reminiscent of Verne’s classic Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea. As they begin their counter thrust, the top secret American team is unaware that the Leviathan has a traitor inside their headquarters. This turncoat enables the enemy to take the fight to the Event Group with plans to kidnap the leadership, to insure the breakdown of command and control, and to use as hostages in the event of negotiations.

Using the Event Group in a modern day rendition of Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea thriller, David L. Golemon provides his fans with an enjoyable tale. The story line is fast-paced on land and at sea although very linear with obvious actions and reactions except for a late exciting twist. Fans of Jules Verne or Mr. Goleman will take delight in LEVIATHAN, an exciting story that pays homage to great French author.

Harriet Klausner